Department of Florida

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Instagram


During his report to the National Executive Committee on Oct. 15 in Indianapolis, National Historian James Copher announced the winners of the National Post History Contest and National Department History Contest, which had been judged earlier in the week by a panel of past and present department and national historians. A meeting of the NADHAL (National Association of Department Historians of The American Legion) organization, to which the judges belong, was also held. 

2015 winners include:

One-Year Department Narrative History Contest (out of three entries):20151015_NECmeeting_CWL_9103_web

First Award, Department of North Carolina 

Second Award, Department of Indiana 

Honorable Mention, Department of Georgia

One-Year Department Yearbook History Contest (out of 12 entries):

First Award, Department of Nebraska

Second Award, Department of North Carolina

Third Award, Department of Florida 

Honorable Mention, Department of North Dakota 

One-Year Post Narrative History Contest (out of six entries):

First Award, Banks Post 90, Banks, Ore.

Second Award, Pony Express Post 359, St. Joseph, Mo.

Third Award, Carroll Post 143, Carrollton, Ga.

One-Year Post Yearbook History Contest (out of 25 entries):

First Award, Carroll Post 143, Carrollton, Ga.

Second Award, Alois-Dreikosen Post 469, Marathon, Wis.

Third Award, Frierson-Nichols Post 8, Winter Haven, Fla. 

Honorable Mention, Cornville Post 135, Cornville, Ariz.

Source URL: